White beans-my new staple

I have read many a  time that small white beans can be used in variety of  ways with soups, stews, pastas and the like but I was never fully convinced.

I had a 65cent can of small white beans lurking in the cupboard that I must have bought on a whim. Each time I open the damn cabinet they would stare me right in the face shouting, ‘ EAT ME.’

Sunday night my husband an I were exhausted and I had to compile a quick dinner. Trader Joes makes fab burritos that are ready in 6 min and I needed a side. White beans to the rescue. Try the recipe it will knock your socks off:

White Bean Spicy Salad

1 can small white beans

Juice of one lime or lemon

3 heaping Tbsp of salsa

pinch of cayenne pepper

Bag of Romaine Lettuce ( measure according to mouths you have to feed!)

Salt & Pepper

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Optional: 2 Tbsp shredded cheddar cheese

Combine all ingredients in a bowl sans the romaine. Mix thoroughly. Spoon over lettuce. Tastes even better the second day. YUM!

Leave a Reply

